Book Review: The Neo-Generalist

Dan Pontefract

Dan's Related Posts: Montreal’s Three Wise Men Book Review: Originals by Adam Grant Download Chapter 1 of “The Purpose Effect” For Free Free Download of Chapter 1 – The Purpose Effect Favourite Books of 2013 That I Read.

Review 200

how we learn – review

Harold Jarche

The research he reviewed shows that ‘interleaving’ (mixing related but distinct material during study) is more powerful. How We Learn by Benedict Carey is focused mostly on memory and learning for recall but it is a good read and there is likely something new about learning here for anyone.

Review 191

Book Review: Originals by Adam Grant

Dan Pontefract

Written for individuals, leaders, parents and teachers, this short section of very sensible actions cemented my opinion that Adam’s book was in fact written for the three different lens of observation I noted at the beginning of this review. book Adam Grant Book Review Give and Take Original

Review 186

Book Review: Friend of a Friend

Dan Pontefract

You're reading fresh content from Dan Pontefract at Brave New Org: Network. It can be such a loaded and overbearing term. On the one hand, it’s a noun. Among other definitions, it can denote a group. Dan's Related Posts: Did I Just Spam My Entire LinkedIn Network?

Review 144

it’s not complicated – review

Harold Jarche

“In times of change learners inherit the earth; while the learned find themselves beautifully equipped to deal with a world that no longer exists” — Eric Hoffer.

Review 205

freedom inc. review

Harold Jarche

In these times, can you afford to continue stifling the vast majority of your people instead of giving them a chance to help your business? Freedom Inc. If you liked the book Reinventing Organizations (2014) then you will like Freedom Inc. written in 2009.

Review 159

A dark review for United’s Boeing 787

Doc Searls

I’ve been wanting to fly on the Boeing 787 “Dreamliner” ever since I missed a chance to go on an inaugural junket aboard one before Boeing began delivery to the airlines. But three days ago I finally got my chance, aboard United Flight 935 from London to Los Angeles.

Review 234

September Review

Jane Hart

Review 130

Book Review: Work That Matters

Beth Kanter

Last month I was lucky enough to run into Maia Duerr who participated in Wake’s Tech2EmpowerUSA at a workshop I was facilitating on the Happy Healthy Nonprofit. Maia Duerr recently published a book called “ Work that Matters: Create a Livelihood that Reflects Your Core Intention.”

Open – Review

Harold Jarche

How do our minds cope with the torrent of information coming at us from every angle today? How do we convert so much knowledge into socially productive wisdom? What can we do to close the gap between those who have access to open learning, and those who (still) do not?

Review 156

Walkabout Review

Jay Cross

I am an author and blogger. Two years ago Hampson Studio created a mouth watering site for jaycross.com. Over time I pulled the plug on the razzle-dazzle and settled in with the fit and finish of the site. .

Review 117

Black Box Thinking Review

Harold Jarche

When things go wrong, people have a tendency to want to blame someone, often as soon as possible. It makes us feel better to find the culprit or get the ‘bad apple’ We have the opposite tendency when it comes to ourselves.

Review 161

Reinventing Organizations – Review

Harold Jarche

What is a “Teal Organization”? Frédéric Laloux, in Reinventing Organizations , uses a colour scheme, based on Integral Theory , to describe the historical development of human organizations: Red > Orange > Green > Teal.

Review 207

Reddit on my LARB review

David Weinberger

There’s a small but interesting discussion at the philosophy subreddit of my review of Michael Lynch’s The Internet of Us. The post Reddit on my LARB review appeared first on Joho the Blog

Review 100

Book Review of WORK RULES: Insights From Inside Google

Dan Pontefract

Behaviour book employee engagement HR Human Resources Book Review Google+ Laszlo Bock Work Rules I’ve been eagerly awaiting this book for some time. Not in the literal sense. After all, Amazon delivered a hardcopy version to my front door in what must have been 37 seconds.

Review 144

March 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

Now that April Fools Day is over, here’s my March review. Unleashing the power of networked learning , Martha Stone Wiske, Harvard Business Review, 21 March 2010.

Review 180

Hateful Eight review [NO spoilers]

David Weinberger

We saw Hateful Eight in 70mm splendor in a packed and enthusiastic theater last night. Totally worth seeing. The three hours went by quickly. But it was less ambitious, and less cinematic, than his recent work. In fact, it is basically a stage play.

Review 130

The Enigma of Reason (review)

Mind Hacks

The Enigma of Reason: A New Theory of Human Understanding , by Hugo Mercier and Dan Sperber was published in April, and I have a review in this week’s Times Higher Education. You can read the full review on the THE site , but I highly recommend checking out the book.

A Review of SAP Jam

Dan Pontefract

The description is a bit clumsy and could use some work but if you haven’t used Jam before or seen it in action, I thought I’d take this opportunity to provide a review.

Review 161

November 2011 in review

Jane Hart

As we count down to the big holiday season for Christmas and New Year, here is my review of November 2011.

Review 146

Is Peer Review the Cause of the College Accreditation Sham?

Nine Shift

Accreditation, apparently, has peer review as a critical element. That's got to be a big reason why accreditation is such a sham. The fox investigating the other foxes. No wonder us chickens are getting a bad deal. . Now back to college basketball tournament. Now There's a clean industry.

Review 100

January 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

I’ve started off my 2011 Reading List, and this blog posting highlights my top 3 must-reads for January 2011.

Review 178

Instant review: The Interview

David Weinberger

I watched The Interview tonight in part because for $6.00 I wanted to see it, and in part because I want to encourage this mode of distribution — no, not by the intervention of terrorists but over the Web. Given the build up, I was surprised that it’s not a political satire at all. It’s a media satire. The butt of the jokes are the media, with Kim Jong Un there merely as a convenient villain. The first two thirds were pretty funny.

Review 109

April 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

My 2011 Reading List. Lots of interesting articles and blog postings appeared last month – but here are are few I’ve marked as must-reads. Trust and networks , Gideon Rosenblatt, Alchemy of Change, 16 April 2011. “Trust makes networks work.

Review 172

May 2011 Review

Jane Hart

But first a review of May 2011. In some ways, this makes my usual monthly review of resources a little unnecessary, but I just wanted to share with you the links to my 5 must-read resources this month. Tweet.

Review 158

Betterness: Review

Harold Jarche

Tweet Umair Haque’s Betterness: Economics for Humans is a quick read and a very cheap book at $2.69 for a Kindle version. It’s worth much more than that.

Review 144

Capital One’s AdaptivePath.org Year In Review

Adaptive Path

“What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.” Jane Goodall. During the earliest day of dot-org, I borrowed this quote to succinctly express what I hoped dot-org would become in the world. This past year, we’ve made strides to clarify what and how we operate. We started the year working with Glide to pilot a new service, Glide Goods.

Review 181

the hustle economy – review

Harold Jarche

More of us are working in a gig economy, where creativity is valued but job stability is rare. In The Hustle Economy, 25 creative people provide advice on how to survive and succeed. They come from various walks of life, though it is definitely a US-centric perspective. I did not agree with all the writers, Read more » Books Work

Review 120

only humans need apply – review

Harold Jarche

In Only Humans Need Apply , the authors identify five ways that people can adapt to automation and intelligent machines. They call it ‘stepping’ I have added in parentheses the main attributes I think are needed for each option. Step-up: directing the machine-augmented world (creativity).

Review 130

2015 in Review: Workplace Learning – Trends, Disruption & Change

Jane Hart

Here is my review of 2015 – in both my own blog posts as well as those that I’ve included in my monthly reviews throughout the year. I’ve given each month a theme (sometimes one which extended into later months of the year!) JANUARY – BLENDED LEARNING In What does the term blended learning mean I revealed […]. Social learning

Trends 157

October 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

I’ve added over 50 links to interesting articles and resources in my Reading List in October. As I’ve mentioned lots of them in my continuing series of postings on Key Social Learning Resources, here I want to pick out just five more. 1 and 2.

Review 149

July 2011 Review

Jane Hart

The challenge of organizational learning , Stanford Social Innovation Review, Summer 2011 Tweet. July was Google Plus month – and it was interesting to read the variety of articles and blog posts about this shiny new social networking service.

Review 136

Video Review of Drucker Forum 2013

Dan Pontefract

My (video) thoughts on the 5th Annual Global Drucker Forum (2013) held in Vienna, Austria. In a word “ excellent ” … in a tagline tweet “The Drucker Forum 2013 was the TED of all Leadership Management Conferences #GPDF13″ 93 total views, 93 views today.

Review 165

First reviews for Future Perfect

Steven Berlin Johnson

A couple nice early reviews of Future Perfect have come in over the past few weeks: Publishers Weekly calls it "fascinating and compelling" and says "Johnson’s thought-provoking ideas steer us steadily into the future." Full review here.)

Review 133

Working the Past – Review

Harold Jarche

Maintaining a useable past takes work. It is as much work as maintaining a useable building, though very different work, using very different tools.

Review 161

June 2011 Review

Jane Hart

I can’t believe it’s July already – and just before I head off to Johannesburg for my second trip this year, I thought I’d better do my monthly review. Tweet.

Review 136

Review: SharePoint Conference 2011

Dan Pontefract

I recently had the opportunity to attend and speak at SharePoint Conference 2011 in Anaheim, California along with roughly 8,000 other attendees. This was the first SharePoint conference since the Fall of 2009.

The Connected Company Review

Harold Jarche

I received a copy of Dave Gray’s The Connected Company from O’Reilly books and must say that Dave has done a great job. It is a comprehensive read, covering complexity and networks, and how they are changing business.

Free e-book from Los Angeles Review of Books

David Weinberger

I’m proud that my essay about online knowledge has been included in a free e-book collecting essays about the effect of the digital revolution, published by the Los Angeles Review of Books. The post Free e-book from Los Angeles Review of Books appeared first on Joho the Blog It’s actually the first essay in the book, which obviously is not arranged in order of preference, but probably means at least the editors didn’t hate it.

Review 100

Book Review: The Imagination Gap

Beth Kanter

My colleague Brian Reich has just published a new book, The Imagination Gap. I’ve known Brian for over ten years and he is a brilliant strategist for executive leaders and global brands – nonprofits, startups, and political organizations.