Book Review: Winners Take All

Dan Pontefract

Winners Take All: The … Continue reading "Book Review: Winners Take All". The post Book Review: Winners Take All appeared first on Dan Pontefract. book Anand Giridharadas Book Review Winner Takes AllIt is quite possibly one of the most important books I’ve read in a while. Anand Giridharadas has crafted a compelling investigation into current day class systems.

Review 100

Coping with Change: A Book Review of Flux by April Rinne

Clark Quinn

The post Coping with Change: A Book Review of <I>Flux</I> by April Rinne appeared first on Learnlets. How do we cope with change?

Review 180
Insiders

Sign Up for our Newsletter

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Friends reviewing friends

David Weinberger

Amazon is refusing to post reviews when its algorithms sense a personal relationship between the author and the reviewer. Amazon says, “We are removing your reviews because you know the author personally,” according to Chris Morran at The Consumerist. A review is likely to be swayed by a personal friendship. That’s why some of us disclose friendships when posting reviews at Amazon.

Review 177

Book Review: The Good Fight

Dan Pontefract

You're reading fresh content from Dan Pontefract at Brave New Org: Conflict is a natural part of life. It happens at home, in the community, and of course in our place of work. So why is. Dan's Related Posts: Why I Love Netflix’s Decision-Making Culture. When Power Overthrows Common Sense. Did Zappos Just Ruin Their Culture Or Is It A Brilliant Org Redesign? Three Tough Questions Answered About Purpose. Try Implementing Flexible Work Options to Increase Employee Engagement.

Review 143

September Review

Jane Hart

In September I added over 40 resources to my 2011 Reading List, but since I have already mentioned many of them in the four pieces I wrote for Training Zone where I curated articles on social learning (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3 and Part 4), in this month’s review I am going to pick 5 articles that I haven’t discussed.

Review 149

how we learn – review

Harold Jarche

The research he reviewed shows that ‘interleaving’ (mixing related but distinct material during study) is more powerful. Carey summarizes the research: “ To build and retain foreign vocabulary, scientific definitions, or other factual information, it’s best to review the material one or two days after initial study; then a week later, then about a month later.”.

Review 156

Book Review: The Neo-Generalist

Dan Pontefract

Dan's Related Posts: Montreal’s Three Wise Men Book Review: Originals by Adam Grant Download Chapter 1 of “The Purpose Effect” For Free Free Download of Chapter 1 – The Purpose Effect Favourite Books of 2013 That I Read. I’ve had several roles in multiple organizations over my career. All of them have been rewarding. When I look back I can distinguish one particular.

Review 140

freedom inc. review

Harold Jarche

In these times, can you afford to continue stifling the vast majority of your people instead of giving them a chance to help your business? Freedom Inc. If you liked the book Reinventing Organizations (2014) then you will like Freedom Inc. written in 2009. If have not read Frédéric Laloux’s Reinventing Organizations , read Freedom Inc. instead. Freedom Inc. has many case studies from the same companies that are in Reinventing Organizations but the former are more comprehensive.

Review 148

Book Review: Originals by Adam Grant

Dan Pontefract

Written for individuals, leaders, parents and teachers, this short section of very sensible actions cemented my opinion that Adam’s book was in fact written for the three different lens of observation I noted at the beginning of this review. I have been sitting on this review of Originals for a couple of weeks. Speaking of procrastination and first-movers, perhaps that is why this review is so late. Book Review of WORK RULES: Insights From Inside Google.

Review 108

Reinventing Organizations – Review

Harold Jarche

What is a “Teal Organization”? Frédéric Laloux, in Reinventing Organizations , uses a colour scheme, based on Integral Theory , to describe the historical development of human organizations: Red > Orange > Green > Teal. Laloux lists three breakthroughs of Teal organizations: Self-management: driven by peer relationships. Wholeness: involving the whole person at work. Evolutionary purpose: let the organization adapt and grow, not be driven.

Review 218

Instant review: The Interview

David Weinberger

I watched The Interview tonight in part because for $6.00 I wanted to see it, and in part because I want to encourage this mode of distribution — no, not by the intervention of terrorists but over the Web. Given the build up, I was surprised that it’s not a political satire at all. It’s a media satire. The butt of the jokes are the media, with Kim Jong Un there merely as a convenient villain. The first two thirds were pretty funny.

Review 131

[review] Cheap Complex Devices

David Weinberger

I’ve got an ever-growing list of books that I intend to write reviews of because they’re so damn interesting. In fact, it’s because they deserve full reviews that I’m not writing any reviews. So, with the knowingly-false intention of coming back to write a longer review, here’s a brief report on one book on my list. As Julianne Chatelain says in her review , it “contains sentences of terrible beauty that are also terribly funny.&#

Walkabout Review

Jay Cross

I am an author and blogger. Two years ago Hampson Studio created a mouth watering site for jaycross.com. Over time I pulled the plug on the razzle-dazzle and settled in with the fit and finish of the site. . You wouldn’t want to junk up an attractive, slick, faux-corporate website with ribald jokes. I’d like to blog and site for Harvard Business Publishing or Forbes. jaycross.com is where I’d send them.

Betterness: Review

Harold Jarche

Tweet Umair Haque’s Betterness: Economics for Humans is a quick read and a very cheap book at $2.69 for a Kindle version. It’s worth much more than that. Haque starts with an invitation: If you’re delighted with the status quo, splendidly contented with the present, firmly convinced that the way live, work, and play is the best and last way we can, put this volume back on the digital shelf.

Review 161

November in Review: Disruption

Jane Hart

This month started with the sad news of the passing of Jay Cross, and since that time there have been many tributes to him. Ravi Pratap Singh, however, showed his appreciation by listing 20 Awesome Quotes From Jay Cross, which included this one … “The world is changing so fast that staying in one’s comfort zone […]. Social learning

Review 107

Book Review of WORK RULES: Insights From Inside Google

Dan Pontefract

Behaviour book employee engagement HR Human Resources Book Review Google+ Laszlo Bock Work Rules I’ve been eagerly awaiting this book for some time. Not in the literal sense. After all, Amazon delivered a hardcopy version to my front door in what must have been 37 seconds. No, I’m referring to my anticipation in a more figurative way. Nine years ago, Laszlo Bock became head of People Operations at Google. Nine days ago, Laszlo’s book, Work Rules!

Review 143

November 2011 in review

Jane Hart

As we count down to the big holiday season for Christmas and New Year, here is my review of November 2011. As I’ve already mentioned lots of articles this month in my posts of key social learning resources: part 10, part 11 and part 12 , here are 5 other great articles that appeared in November and which I added to my 2011 Reading List. The mobile world in 60 … Read the rest. Social learning

Review 152

Reddit on my LARB review

David Weinberger

There’s a small but interesting discussion at the philosophy subreddit of my review of Michael Lynch’s The Internet of Us. The post Reddit on my LARB review appeared first on Joho the Blog

Review 100

Reviewing elearning examples

Clark Quinn

Seven courses were identified as ‘finalists’, and my task was the review each and assign points in several categories. I recently wrote about elearning garbage , and in case I doubted my assessment, today’s task made my dilemma quite clear. I was asked to be one of the judges for an elearning contest. Only one was worthy of release, and only one other even made a passing grade. This is a problem. Let me get the good news out of the way first.

A Review of SAP Jam

Dan Pontefract

The description is a bit clumsy and could use some work but if you haven’t used Jam before or seen it in action, I thought I’d take this opportunity to provide a review. Dan''s Related Posts: 5 Use Cases for a Corporate YouTube in Organizations 16 Months of Social Learning Platform Insanity: A Recap Don’t Simply Follow on Twitter, You Should Spend Time Reviewing The Hare, the Tortoise and the Jackass of Social HR 5 Use Cases for Badges in the Enterprise.

Review 161

The Problem with Literature Reviews

George Siemens

As any student knows, a literature review is the starting point for almost any article or essay. When at the level of writing a thesis or dissertation, a review of literature is critical. However, I have issues with reviews. Almost every paper started with a literature review and then moved into the author’s ideas/research. A literature review is a context forming activity. Put another way, a literature review is a controlling, heritage-preserving system.

Review 184

March 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

Now that April Fools Day is over, here’s my March review. Unleashing the power of networked learning , Martha Stone Wiske, Harvard Business Review, 21 March 2010. In terms of my professional reading, I added around 25 articles to my 2011 Reading List, but here are 3 that I’ve marked as must-reads.

Review 161

October 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

I’ve added over 50 links to interesting articles and resources in my Reading List in October. As I’ve mentioned lots of them in my continuing series of postings on Key Social Learning Resources, here I want to pick out just five more. 1 and 2. In this posting Dan Pontefract explains how he has “a problem with both the term digital native and how it has been manufactured into one of … Read the rest. Social learning

Review 152

July 2011 Review

Jane Hart

The challenge of organizational learning , Stanford Social Innovation Review, Summer 2011 Tweet. July was Google Plus month – and it was interesting to read the variety of articles and blog posts about this shiny new social networking service.

Review 142

#LearningStyles Awareness Day review

Clark Quinn

I want to support David Kelly’s Learning Styles Awareness Day , but have written pretty much all I want to say on the matter. In short, yes, learners differ. And, as a conversation with someone reminded me, it helps for learners to look at how they learn, so as to find ways to optimize their chances for success. Yet: There’s no psychometrically-valid learning styles assessment out there. There’s no evidence that adapting learning to learning styles is of use. So what to do?

Review 144

April 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

My 2011 Reading List. Lots of interesting articles and blog postings appeared last month – but here are are few I’ve marked as must-reads. Trust and networks , Gideon Rosenblatt, Alchemy of Change, 16 April 2011. “Trust makes networks work. When trust is high among members of a network, there’s a wonderful cohesiveness and capacity to get work done.

Review 157

Review: SharePoint Conference 2011

Dan Pontefract

I recently had the opportunity to attend and speak at SharePoint Conference 2011 in Anaheim, California along with roughly 8,000 other attendees. This was the first SharePoint conference since the Fall of 2009. It was also the first conference since the launch of SharePoint 2010 – the latest public version available to customers.

Book Review Pointer

Clark Quinn

In case you didn’t see it, eLearn Mag has posted my book review of Mark Warschauer’s insightful book, Learning in the Cloud. To quote myself: This is … a well-presented, concise, and documented presentation of just what is needed to make a working classroom, and how technology helps. As one more teaser, let me provide the closing paragraph: The ultimate message, however, is that this book is important, even crucial reading.

Review 139

August 2011 Review

Jane Hart

Meteorologically speaking, Autumn begins today here in the UK – the summer has passed all too quickly. Although manypeople were away on holiday in August, it was still a very busy month online and I saved nearly 50 articles and resources in my August Reading List. But here are my 5 picks for August: Managing learning: feel the need to manage learning , Charles Jennings, presentation to elearning network, July 2011.

Review 148

June 2011 Review

Jane Hart

I can’t believe it’s July already – and just before I head off to Johannesburg for my second trip this year, I thought I’d better do my monthly review. Tweet.

Review 139

only humans need apply – review

Harold Jarche

In Only Humans Need Apply , the authors identify five ways that people can adapt to automation and intelligent machines. They call it ‘stepping’ I have added in parentheses the main attributes I think are needed for each option. Step-up: directing the machine-augmented world (creativity). Step-in: using machines to augment work (deep thinking). Step-aside: doing human work that machines are not suited for (empathy).

Review 139

Smarter Than We Think Review

Clark Quinn

In Smarter Than We Think , Clive Thompson makes the case that not only is our technology not making us stupider, but that we have been using external support for our cognition from our earliest days. Moreover, this is a good thing. Well, if we do so consciously and with good intent.

Review 141

[2b2k] Jeff Jarvis’ review

David Weinberger

Jeff Jarvis’ review of Too Big To Know is not only lovely and complimentary (aw gosh, Jeff!), but he pulls the right quotes and does a great job explaining what I’m trying to get at in the book

Review 122

Beatles’ Revolver 49 years later: A Review

David Weinberger

So, here’s a review of Revolver (the UK version). The post Beatles’ Revolver 49 years later: A Review appeared first on Joho the Blog In the 1980s, I stopped listening to music for no particular reason. It was only in the early 1990s as I was commuting every week to my mother’s death bed (don’t smoke, kids!) that I started again. Thank you Mssrs. Bach, Gould, and Goldberg. I have not listened to a Beatles album since before my 1980s quiet period.

Review 152

Black Box Thinking Review

Harold Jarche

When things go wrong, people have a tendency to want to blame someone, often as soon as possible. It makes us feel better to find the culprit or get the ‘bad apple’ We have the opposite tendency when it comes to ourselves. The cognitive dissonance of not meeting our self-image or expectations can be so powerful that we make up stories to cover our failures. And we actually believe them. This happens to judges, lawyers, doctors, nurses, and many other professionals.

Review 120

May 2011 Review

Jane Hart

But first a review of May 2011. In some ways, this makes my usual monthly review of resources a little unnecessary, but I just wanted to share with you the links to my 5 must-read resources this month. Tweet. It’s 1 June, and time to think about summer and summer holidays – in the northern hemisphere at least! May turned out to be a very busy month for me, in ways that I hadn’t anticipated.

Review 137

The Connected Company Review

Harold Jarche

I received a copy of Dave Gray’s The Connected Company from O’Reilly books and must say that Dave has done a great job. It is a comprehensive read, covering complexity and networks, and how they are changing business. The book also includes a lot of detail (almost 300 pages) on how to shift to becoming a connected company as well as how to lead one. In addition, the book is sprinkled with Dave’s great illustrations, making the complicated much simpler to understand.

The New How – Review

Harold Jarche

The New How: Creating Business Solutions through Collaborative Strategy is a how-to book for anyone involved in strategy development in a large organization. It’s a toolkit for implementing a more collaborative workplace. It’s about the How and not so much the What or Why, though there are many anecdotes shared by the author Nilofer Merchant , from her experiences with companies like Apple, Adobe, Nokia and HP.

Review 162

Capital One’s AdaptivePath.org Year In Review

Adaptive Path

“What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.” Jane Goodall. During the earliest day of dot-org, I borrowed this quote to succinctly express what I hoped dot-org would become in the world. This past year, we’ve made strides to clarify what and how we operate. We started the year working with Glide to pilot a new service, Glide Goods.

Review 181

Working the Past – Review

Harold Jarche

Maintaining a useable past takes work. It is as much work as maintaining a useable building, though very different work, using very different tools. The work of this book has been to demonstrate the existence and nature of this work – mundane, daily, and utterly essential to any group that considers it has an identity. So concludes Charlotte Linde in Working the Past: Narrative and Institutional Memory. This book is based on a study of institutional memory at a US-based insurance company.

Review 159

Book Review: Friend of a Friend

Dan Pontefract

You're reading fresh content from Dan Pontefract at Brave New Org: Network. It can be such a loaded and overbearing term. On the one hand, it’s a noun. Among other definitions, it can denote a group. Dan's Related Posts: Did I Just Spam My Entire LinkedIn Network? My 1800+ LinkedIn Network Graphically Mapped. My Network is my Net Worth – Part II. LinkedIn Skills – Useful or Useless? Social as a Weapon of Class Destruction. Thanks for reading. visit the original at [link].

Review 101

Different – Review

Harold Jarche

Tweet Different , by Youngme Moon, discusses how market competition creates a herd mentality amongst competitors and results in a wide array of very similar products. The more mature a market category, the less deviation there is. I see this in the learning management system (LMS) market. Basically, they’re all the same and currently all are adding “social&# to the mix, as they try to keep up with each other.

Review 144

January 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

I’ve started off my 2011 Reading List, and this blog posting highlights my top 3 must-reads for January 2011. Everyone’s been talking and tweeting about Quora this month, and I have a few articles/postings about Quora on my list, but this one takes a look at it from the “learning&# point of view: Quora: a social network built for learning , Instructional design fusions, 3 January 2011.

Review 145