Trending Sources

Jane Hart’s Social Learning Handbook

Clark Quinn

Having previously reviewed Marcia Conner and Tony Bingham’s The New Social Learning , and Jane Bozarth’s Social Media for Trainers , I have now received my copy of Jane Hart’s Social Learning Handbook. First, I’ll review Jane’s book on it’s own, and then put it in the context of the other two. This is largely as an adjunct to formal learning, rather than focusing on social media for formal learning.

May 2011 Review

Jane Hart

But first a review of May 2011. In some ways, this makes my usual monthly review of resources a little unnecessary, but I just wanted to share with you the links to my 5 must-read resources this month. The case for online social networking in education , Jose Picardo, 14 May 2011.

2011: My year in blog posts, presentations and other resources

Jane Hart

This is my second blog post reviewing 2011. In January I published my Social Learning Handbook (both as a paperback and a PDF). Its main premise was that social learning happens all the time … Read the rest. Social learning

Top 35 Articles on eLearning Strategy

Tony Karrer

This time I had better luck and also had great luck searching for elearning strategy articles on eLearning Learning under the topic pages: eLearning Strategies , Learning Strategies and Strategy. It’s still needs more, but represents a good starting point for review: eLearning Strategy (PDF) Elearning - A Primer Learning 2.0 Top-Down Strategy What does a real life e-learning strategy look like?

Working Smarter: Most popular posts of 2011

Jay Cross

Working smarter draws upon ideas from design thinking, network optimization, brain science, user experience design, learning theory, organizational development, social business, technology, collaboration, web 2.0 Open Learning Analytics: A proposal - George Siemens , December 10, 2011.

Workplace learning is like learning a second language

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact Slideshare’s World’s Best Presentation Contest 2010: the results are in 24 Tips : and my Tip for 13th December Workplace learning is like learning a second language On December 11, 2010, in Uncategorized , by Jane Hart In a recent comment on my blog I compared learning in the modern day workplace with learning a second language. 

Alternatives for Dimdim

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact Top 20 viral videos Prezi for your iPad Alternatives for Dimdim On January 9, 2011, in Uncategorized , by Jane Hart Now that Dimdim, the free web meeting/conferencing tool has been acquired by Salesforce and no new accounts are being accepted, I have been asked for suggestions for alternatives.

Happy Christmas! Happy Holidays!

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact 2010 in Review Part 2: My 10 favourite resources in 2010 2010 in Review Part 3: My year in reflective blogging Happy Christmas! PS Parts 3-5 of my Review of 2010 will resume on Tuesday 28 December. She also aggregates postings from her other blogs: Janes Pick of the Day and Social Media for Working and Learning.

The Year of Social Media 2010 Infographic

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact 2010 in Review Part 4: Top 100 articles of 2010 EmbedPlus : enhanced YouTube embedding The Year of Social Media 2010 Infographic On January 3, 2011, in Uncategorized , by Jane Hart 2110 – the year of social media – Infographic courtesy of Mindjumpers. Looks like I missed a few major social media events during 2010.

Walk the Net

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact The Shorty Awards Top 20 viral videos Walk the Net On January 7, 2011, in Tools , by Jane Hart A web walk takes you step by step towards understanding and mastery of a topic. About the C4LPT Blog Jane Hart provides news, resources, ideas and new thinking about social media for working and learning, from the Centre for Learning & Performance Technologies (C4LPT).

The Shorty Awards

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact 100 things to watch in 2011 Walk the Net The Shorty Awards On January 6, 2011, in News , by Jane Hart The Shorty Awards honour the best people and organizations on Twitter and social media. For the first time, the Shorty Awards will also honour the industry’s best agencies and social media professionals.

100 things to watch in 2011

Jane Hart

About the C4LPT Blog Jane Hart provides news, resources, ideas and new thinking about social media for working and learning, from the Centre for Learning & Performance Technologies (C4LPT). She also aggregates postings from her other blogs: Janes Pick of the Day and Social Media for Working and Learning.

Top 20 viral videos

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact Walk the Net Alternatives for Dimdim Top 20 viral videos On January 8, 2011, in Uncategorized , YouTube , by Jane Hart I was alerted to a list of top viral videos by a recent article in the Guardian. About the C4LPT Blog Jane Hart provides news, resources, ideas and new thinking about social media for working and learning, from the Centre for Learning & Performance Technologies (C4LPT).

EmbedPlus : enhanced YouTube embedding

Jane Hart

Blog C4LPT Jane Hart Advice Workshops Social Learning Handbook Resources Contact The Year of Social Media 2010 Infographic 100 things to watch in 2011 EmbedPlus : enhanced YouTube embedding On January 4, 2011, in Uncategorized , by Jane Hart Want to enhance the viewer experiences and discussions around the YouTube videos you embed? She also aggregates postings from her other blogs: Janes Pick of the Day and Social Media for Working and Learning.

Harold Jarche » Seeing What’s Next

Harold Jarche

Roger Kaufman has reviewed the book from the perspective of a human performance technologist (HPT) in April’s Performance Quarterly.

PKM 2

So many thoughts, so little time

Jay Cross

The top posts from sources selected for Informal Learning Flow in the first six months of 2009: Work on Stuff that Matters: First Principles - OReilly Radar , January 11, 2009. Blog – How to Save Media - Technology Review Feed – Tech Review Top Stories , May 3, 2009. Debunking Social Media Myths - HarvardBusiness.org , June 29, 2009. aka, No, Kevin, this is not “socialism&# ) - Lessig Blog , May 28, 2009. How to make e-learning work!

Harold Jarche » Blogs are not a “substitute”

Harold Jarche

I am certain that democracy, and learning, can be enhanced with digital media, but we have to stop looking back with simplistic and direct comparisons, and get on with making our interconnected world work. peer reviewed academic journals or blogs?

Harold Jarche » Blogs are not a “substitute”

Harold Jarche

I am certain that democracy, and learning, can be enhanced with digital media, but we have to stop looking back with simplistic and direct comparisons, and get on with making our interconnected world work. peer reviewed academic journals or blogs?

PKM 2