Book Review: Originals by Adam Grant

Dan Pontefract

Written for individuals, leaders, parents and teachers, this short section of very sensible actions cemented my opinion that Adam’s book was in fact written for the three different lens of observation I noted at the beginning of this review. book Adam Grant Book Review Give and Take Original

Review 183

how we learn – review

Harold Jarche

But more often, forgetting is a friend to learning” … Using memory changes memory — and for the better. The research he reviewed shows that ‘interleaving’ (mixing related but distinct material during study) is more powerful.

Review 209

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

freedom inc. review

Harold Jarche

discuss the common phenomenon of periodic mass restructuring which is publicly reported as a method of adapting to changing market conditions. Presumably the plans for our employment were being changed.

Review 188

Reinventing Organizations – Review

Harold Jarche

The examples in this book should help to change anyone’s mind about the need for command and control, or a focus on the bottom line. It comes down to only two factors: The CEO must drive the change. The Board must believe in the change and support the CEO.

Review 285

2015 in Review: Workplace Learning – Trends, Disruption & Change

Jane Hart

Here is my review of 2015 – in both my own blog posts as well as those that I’ve included in my monthly reviews throughout the year. I’ve given each month a theme (sometimes one which extended into later months of the year!) JANUARY – BLENDED LEARNING In What does the term blended learning mean I revealed […]. Social learning

Trends 159

Book Review of WORK RULES: Insights From Inside Google

Dan Pontefract

Behaviour book employee engagement HR Human Resources Book Review Google+ Laszlo Bock Work Rules I’ve been eagerly awaiting this book for some time. Not in the literal sense. After all, Amazon delivered a hardcopy version to my front door in what must have been 37 seconds.

Review 196

A Review of SAP Jam

Dan Pontefract

The description is a bit clumsy and could use some work but if you haven’t used Jam before or seen it in action, I thought I’d take this opportunity to provide a review. A logo, background colour scheme, and a few other UI changes can be made.

Review 234

The Connected Company Review

Harold Jarche

It is a comprehensive read, covering complexity and networks, and how they are changing business. I received a copy of Dave Gray’s The Connected Company from O’Reilly books and must say that Dave has done a great job.

Working the Past – Review

Harold Jarche

There are important patterns in both in the ways stories are reproduced and and the ways they are changed, and the patterns observed in an insurance company can inform us about the ways in which very different collectivities work their past. Maintaining a useable past takes work.

Review 214

only humans need apply – review

Harold Jarche

It reflected a structural change, in part due to the growing sophistication of automation.” In Only Humans Need Apply , the authors identify five ways that people can adapt to automation and intelligent machines.

Review 177

Book Review: Cause for Change

Beth Kanter

I’m getting a jump on my summer reading! Colleagues Kari Dunn Saratovsky and Derrick Feldmann have published a new book called Cause for Change: The Why and How of Nonprofit Millennial Engagement.

Trust Agents – review

Harold Jarche

Also, three of the book’s chapters reflect The Law of the Few – how small groups of people enable social change or the transmission of new ideas. Tags: Books book_review

Review 190

Book Review: Connecting to Change the World

Beth Kanter

Almost tend years ago, they co-wrote “Net Gains,” one of the first practical handbooks on building and working in networks for social change. They have joined forces and along with John Cleveland, have written “ Connecting to Change the World.”

April 2011 in Review

Jane Hart

Trust and networks , Gideon Rosenblatt, Alchemy of Change, 16 April 2011. “Culture is the hardest element of success, because it’s 1) hard to define, 2) takes a long time to change, and 3) there are serious disincentives to changing it. My 2011 Reading List.

Review 248

The Internet of Things is Changing the World

Irving Wladawsky-Berger

“How the world will change as computers spread into everyday objects,” is the title of the lead article in a comprehensive review of the Internet of Things (IoT) in a r ecent issue of The Economist.

Change 159

The Problem with Literature Reviews

George Siemens

As any student knows, a literature review is the starting point for almost any article or essay. When at the level of writing a thesis or dissertation, a review of literature is critical. However, I have issues with reviews. Almost every paper started with a literature review and then moved into the author’s ideas/research. A literature review is a context forming activity. Put another way, a literature review is a controlling, heritage-preserving system.

Review 184

The Leader's Guide to Radical Management: BOOK REVIEW: The New.

Steve Denning

» December 19, 2010 BOOK REVIEW: The New Capitalist Manifesto by Umair Haque The New Capitalist Manifesto: Building a Disruptively Better Business by Umair Haque (Boston: Harvard  Business Revew Press, 2011).

Review 279

BOOK REVIEW: Radical management: "one of the truly great.

Steve Denning

» January 13, 2011 BOOK REVIEW: Radical management: "one of the truly great management books" Wayne Hurlbert of Business Blog World has issued a review of my new book. This book provides the techniques and strategies to address change in both the workplace and with customers.

Review 192

Smarter Than We Think Review

Clark Quinn

He starts by telling the story of how – as our chess competitions have moved from man against man, through man against computer, to man & computer against man & computer – the quality of play has fundamentally changed and improved. In Smarter Than We Think , Clive Thompson makes the case that not only is our technology not making us stupider, but that we have been using external support for our cognition from our earliest days. Moreover, this is a good thing.

Review 146

A Review of “How To Be Interesting” While Sitting Beside a Drunk on an Airplane

Dan Pontefract

book drunks how to be interesting review wine It wasn’t long into a trip from Vancouver to Washington, DC when my female seatmate asked the flight attendant for a glass of white wine. Departure time was 9:00am.

Review 186

Beatles’ Revolver 49 years later: A Review

David Weinberger

So, here’s a review of Revolver (the UK version). Everything about this song is weird and unexpected: the chord changes, the instrumentation, the harmonies, the genre shifts. The post Beatles’ Revolver 49 years later: A Review appeared first on Joho the Blog In the 1980s, I stopped listening to music for no particular reason. It was only in the early 1990s as I was commuting every week to my mother’s death bed (don’t smoke, kids!) that I started again.

Review 152

August 2011 Review

Jane Hart

By the way, during August I changed the design of my C4LPT website – hope you find it more easily searchable, navigable and user-friendly Meteorologically speaking, Autumn begins today here in the UK – the summer has passed all too quickly.

Review 192

The Learning Layer – Review

Harold Jarche

He further recommends changes in how we develop ideas for innovation and suggests reversing the traditional idea funnel.

Review 219

The Nature of the Future – Review

Harold Jarche

This book provides probably the best background, and foreground, reading for most of the ideas discussed on this blog: complexity; the changing nature of work; the need to integrate learning into our work; and the primacy of cooperation in networks. What will the future look like?

Review 270

Wolf of Wall Street: a review

David Weinberger

String them together and you have a fairly predictable narrative arc, and a thematic point ( [SPOILER] Greed is bad) that isn’t going to change anyone’s mind. I saw it on New Year’s Eve and liked it a lot. But, I think it’s best taken as a series of brilliant set pieces. But the set pieces are incredibly well done because Scorcese. And Leo Dicaprio is just great in it. Some people are upset because the movie doesn’t condemn the behavior it depicts. Yikes.

Review 164

Seeing What Others Don’t – Review

Harold Jarche

Also interesting is that gaining insight is about changing one’s stories. Following Gary Klein on his search to find out how insight happens is a pleasurable, even mind-blowing experience.

Review 236

The Leader's Guide to Radical Management: Tom Gilb's review of.

Steve Denning

Tom's review of my book (January 4, 2011) now appears in Amazon and on his website , and is reprinted here: Rapid feedback management I love this book! Focus on delivering real value on each small iteration of change to those stakeholders.

Review 191

The Power of Reflection in an Ever-Changing World

Charles Jennings

Military after-action reviews (AARs) are tremendous structured processes that analyse what happened, why it happened and how it could be done better. (I wrote the original piece this article is based on for Training Industry Quarterly in Winter, 2012.

Change 206

Reviewing "The Social Network" - Constructing Grand Narrative

John Hagel

We live in the midst of a social revolution and this movie represents the effort of mass media to make sense of the changes going on around them. On the other side of the fence, we have the movie reviewers in the mainstream media who have, almost without exception, been ecstatic about the movie.    In fact, the website Metacritic indicates that the movie now has a metascore of 97, based on 40 movie reviewers, the highest score of any movie currently showing. 

The TED of all Leadership Management Conferences – A Review of the Drucker Forum 2013

Dan Pontefract

Once in a while, you get inspired by events in your life that seem to be a precursor to real societal change. A hopeful change. A needed change. An evolutionary change. She smiled and said she looked forward to reviewing the book.

Review 285

Open Forum Guru Review: The Leader's Guide to Radical Management.

Steve Denning

out of 10 Read the full review here Matthew E. May is the author of the recently published The Shibumi Strategy: A Powerful Way to Create Meaningful Change (2010).

Review 141

Training Book Reviews

Clark Quinn

The eminent Jane Bozarth has started a new site called Training Book Reviews. Despite the unfortunate name, I think it’s a great idea: a site for book reviews for those of us passionate about solving workplace performance needs. While submitting new reviews would be great, she notes: share a few hundred words. It will, quite simply, change the way you look at the world, and improve your ability to design learning experiences.

Review 116

AdaptivePath.org Year 4 Months in Review

Adaptive Path

This work wasn’t going to increase revenue or make a profit, it was going to help this organization change lives in a more powerful way. “What you do makes a difference, and you have to decide what kind of difference you want to make.”. Jane Goodall. The moment Brandon Schauer’s email came through announcing the formation of AdaptivePath.org, the synapses in my brain started firing. (I

Review 158

2010 - year in review

Martijn Linssen

why not both Home About Contact Monday, 3 January 2011 2010 - year in review 2010 marked the first full year of blogging for me. Now the dust has settled, I can safely conclude that most agree on a need for change in culture and organisation, with which tools could be of some assistance.

Review 155

Reviewing "A New Culture of Learning"

John Hagel

  How will they ever learn enough to keep up with the accelerating pace of change?   My colleague and friend, John Seely Brown, has just come out with “A New Culture of Learning: Cultivating the Imagination for a World of Constant Change” , co-authored with Doug Thomas, a professor at the University of Southern California.  Doug and JSB make the case that the acceleration and expansion of change requires us to adopt learning models.

Review 183

Social Media Marketing – Review

Harold Jarche

There are lessons here that translate for the learning function as well, such as sending mobile text alerts for changing content. The final section is on best practices and common mistakes and, given the complexity and changing nature of the field, these may change.

Review 166

A review of Susan Greenfield’s “Mind Change”

Mind Hacks

I was asked to write a review of Susan Greenfield’s new book “Mind Change” for the October edition of Literary Review magazine which has just been published. You can read the review in the print edition and I did have the full text posted here but the good folks at the magazine have also put it online to read in full, so do check it out at the link below. Mind Change marshals many published sources to address these claims.

Management Rewired - Review

Harold Jarche

Methods that work are creating cognitive dissonance in order to get a shift in thinking that changes behaviour. Changing behaviour is not enough.

Review 161

Review: The Edupunks' Guide, by Anya Kamenetz

Stephen Downes: Half an Hour

Where is the distinction between different types of research, such as experimental research, say, and literature reviews? Along the way, I hope to create something new and spark further social change in the area of education, social media, global citizenship, and general do-gooding. (p. They experiment with the code, changing variables, adding functions, to learn how what they do creates new outcomes.

Review 208

Book Review: The Imagination Gap

Beth Kanter

He has done a lot of work recently in innovation processes , especially to solve big social change issues. He reminds us of the value of failure: It leads to change when we can remove the stigma and understand how to improve something.

stevenberlinjohnson.com: The Ghost Maps first review

Steven Berlin Johnson

Main | » The Ghost Maps first review Publishers Weekly has generally given me nice reviews over the years, but the review theyve just published for The Ghost Map is the best yet -- one of those reviews that hits on all the themes that are important to you as an author. Posted by: KaneCitizen | August 26, 2006 at 06:14 AM Congratulations on a great review. Like that fantastic review. stevenberlinjohnson.com « Is There An iTV In Our Future?

Review 100

A literary review of the DSM-5

Mind Hacks

Philosopher Ian Hacking , famous for analysing the effects of psychological and neuroscientific knowledge on how we understand ourselves, has reviewed the DSM-5 for the London Review of Books.

The Leader's Guide to Radical Management: Leading change? Start.

Steve Denning

Main | My New Years Resolutions » December 22, 2010 Leading change? Satisfying the need for integrity can be the key to inspiring people to be more open and tackle the possibility of change. Self-affirmation is a great strategy for change!

Change 200